Rep. Sherrill Backs Legislation to Provide $250 Billion to Local Communities in Coronavirus Stabilization Funds

April 9, 2020
Press Release

Parsippany, NJ -- Representative Mikie Sherrill (NJ-11) announced today her co-sponsorship of the Coronavirus Community Relief Act to provide $250 billion in stabilization funds for local communities, cities, and towns across the United States that are struggling amidst the COVID-19 pandemic.

The Coronavirus Aid, Relief and Economic Security Act, or the CARES Act, signed into law on March 27th, provided $150 billion in stabilization funds for states and larger communities, but only provided direct support for localities with populations of over 500,000. This precludes twelve counties in New Jersey that have been hit hard by the COVID-19 outbreak from direct funding.

“Our counties and municipalities in New Jersey are on the front lines of this pandemic,” said Representative Sherrill. “They are standing up testing sites, coordinating shipments of personal protective equipment, and keeping essential municipal functions going in order to respond to COVID-19. This new legislation will ensure that less populous counties and municipalities have access to direct stabilization funding, which is critical to beating COVID-19 in New Jersey and getting our state to the other side of this crisis.”

“Communities across the country are struggling with the impacts of the COVID-19 outbreak,” said Representative Joe Neguse. “Like their larger neighbors, these smaller counties, cities, and towns have faced enormous costs while responding to the COVID-19 pandemic. These costs include deploying timely public service announcements to keep Americans informed, rapidly activating emergency operations, readying employees for telework to keep services running, and more. We must ensure each of our communities receive direct stabilization funds to address the outbreak and recover when this public health emergency has passed.”

Representative Sherrill joined as a co-sponsor of the Coronavirus Community Relief Act, sponsored by Representatives Joe Neguse (CO-02), Ben Ray Luján (NM-03), Andy Levin (MI-09) and Tom Malinowski (NJ-07).

PDF iconSee the bill text here.