For more information concerning work and views related to Energy, please contact our office.

More on Energy

January 7, 2020 Press Release
Washington, DC -- Today, Representative Mikie Sherrill (NJ-11) and Representative Lisa Blunt Rochester (DE-At Large) introduced H.R. 5542, the Mitigate Methane Now Act, legislation to encourage the replacement of old, home distribution pipelines which are a major source of methane leakage across the country and to help mitigate climate change immediately.
October 11, 2019 Press Release
Washington, DC -- Representative Mikie Sherrill (NJ-11) introduced the Biomedical Innovation Expansion Act of 2019 this afternoon with Representatives Mike Levin (CA-49) and Abigail Spanberger (VA-07) to invest $10 billion over the next ten years in the National Institutes of Health (NIH) to provide support for scientific research related to antibiotic resistance and rare diseases.
September 19, 2019 Press Release
Today, Representatives Mikie Sherrill (NJ-11), Jason Crow (CO-06), Chrissy Houlahan (PA-06), Gil Cisneros (CA-39), Elaine Luria (VA-2), Max Rose (NY-11), Elissa Slotkin (MI-08), and Abigail Spanberger (VA-07) released the following statement regarding escalating tensions with Iran following the Saudi oil field attacks. All freshmen Democrats are former members of the military, or veterans of the diplomatic and intelligence community.
September 12, 2019 Press Release
Washington, DC -- Representative Mikie Sherrill (NJ-11) voted this week to protect New Jersey’s 130 miles of coastline and the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge (ANWR). The Coastal Marine Economics Protection Act (H.R. 1941) passed in the House last night with bipartisan support. It would establish a permanent moratorium on oil and gas leasing along the Atlantic and Pacific coasts. The Arctic Cultural and Coastal Plain Protection Act (H.R. 1146) that passed today is a bipartisan proposal to repeal a provision of the 2017 tax bill that opened the coastal plain of ANWR to oil and gas leasing developments.
August 20, 2019 Press Release

Fairfield, NJ -- Today, Congresswoman Mikie Sherrill toured six Superfund sites in the 11th District of New Jersey. Congresswoman Sherrill was joined on the tour by Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Regional Administrator Peter D. Lopez, NJDEP Commissioner Catherine McCabe, and well as other local officials from Chatham Township, Rockaway Township, Rockaway Borough, and Fairfield.

May 3, 2019 Press Release
Washington, DC – Today, Congresswoman Mikie Sherrill (NJ-11) voted to take credible steps to address climate change by keeping the United States in the Paris Climate Agreement and requiring the Administration to have a specific plan to limit national greenhouse gas emissions. Congresswoman Sherrill co-sponsored H.R. 9, the Climate Action Now Act, which requires a plan for the country to meet its agreed upon reductions to greenhouse gas emissions by 2025 and fulfill contributions to fight climate change.
March 7, 2019 Press Release
Washington, DC – Investigations and Oversight Subcommittee Chairwoman Mikie Sherrill sent letters to state and federal officials requesting information related to the decision to halt NASA air pollution monitoring after Hurricane Harvey, all while Superfund sites flooded, releasing toxic chemicals into waterways and neighborhoods.